Testimonials & Reviews

Vasilios Mathews, MD

Orthopedic Surgeon located in Houston, TX

59 total reviews

Dr. Vasilios Mathews always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 59 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Vasilios Mathews below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Roni L.
Submitted 04/24/20
After suffering for long enough, went in and had my knee replaced and it's a miracle. I really can walk. He did a wonderful job. Was in and out same day, am doing fine 2 weeks after. Yes, there still is some pain which is all part of the healing process. But awesome, awesome, awesome team. Will be forever grateful to Dr. V. Mathews. Thank you so very much!!!!!
Ruth D.
Submitted 03/25/20
Nothing short of miraculous. I came in almost crippled to the point of being in a wheelchair and today, after 2 knee replacements I can walk and leads a full, happy and pain free life.
Cade L.
Submitted 03/24/20
Timely professional compassionate care Highly recommended!
Charlotte M.
Submitted 03/20/20
Can't fault the care and expertise from Dr Mathews and his team. This was my second hip op, 12 years after my first and the op/aftercare/recovery plan for the new hip has been awesome. So thankful that I went with the Fondren Orthopedic team, they treat you like family. I recommended Dr Mathews to a good friend a couple of months after my op, and she has had the same first class treatment. Thank you to all and wishing everyone a safe and healthy few months as we battle this new virus...y'all on the front line are heroes.
Prentice W.
Submitted 03/20/20
Great discussion / decision making with Dr. Matthews. Sarah made preparation and surgery informative and I was fully aware of how to get checked in, post surgery requirements and follow up. I've never been to a more organized office and surgery as this one. If you can have a pleasant experience having hip surgery, I came real close. My next hip will be replaced by this team.
Maryanne L.
Submitted 03/20/20
Wonderful doctor and staff!
Marita G.
Submitted 03/20/20
Excellent care, reliable and timely information and follow-up. I highly recommend Dr. Mathews.
Carolyn K.
Submitted 02/26/20
I had a full hip replacement seven weeks ago. Choosing Dr. Mathews and Fondren Orthopedic Group/Texas Orthopedic Hospital was one of my best decisions. Dr. Mathews, even though very business like, was personable and totally competent. All Staff member (to a person) were courteous, professional, informative and talented with great attitudes and were always prompt and accommodating. My experience from the original appointment and pre-op classroom through prep, anesthesiology, surgery, recovery and training to discharge and follow up visits was excellent from start to finish. I cannot properly express my gratitude to Dr. Mathews and the complete staff of Fondren Ortho/Texas Ortho for making my surgery such a pleasant experience to regain my quality of life. I recommended them without reservation.
John K.
Submitted 02/12/20
Visit was for a revised knee replacement consultation. Dr. Mathews assessed the current knee replacement and the reasons for my ongoing knee discomfort and pain. He gave me recommendations to resolve the issues.
Jerry C.
Submitted 01/12/20
I was impressed from the first visit by the incredible amount of time and accuracy that they strived to obtain in the pre-operative examination. Their diligence in checking for details about possible infection was calming. The staff was extremely polite and courteous. This is everyone from the nursing staff, the assistants, the anesthesiologist. They explained procedures well so that I knew what to expect. This was the best and most pleasant surgical experience that I have had. Fondren Orthopedic Group and Dr. Vasilios Mathews has done an excellent job training their staff at all levels.
Charlotte D.
Submitted 01/06/20
My visits and surgery was the best. His staff and the hospital staff was the best. I recommend Dr. Mathews to anyone that needs knee surgery
Tzayrong L.
Submitted 11/21/19
Quick appointment, very short waiting to see doctor. Great services.
Ashley L.
Submitted 09/25/19
Dr. Mathews & his staff had the most honest & pure professionalism I’ve ever seen in any medical field setting! Not one person I came across was rude or unprofessional during my visit & pre-op on this 5 story office/surgical hospital nor was any of it unprofessional or “confusing”! Everyone advised you on your next step with compassion & professionalism! It was warming in such a huge place! Dr Mathew’s bed side manner is the most friendly, professional & comforting in such a “scary” part of your life knowing your life is about to change from the day you make the appointment! I never felt scared today, not once! I just want to say thank you to all the staff & Doctors @ Texas Orthopedic Hospital for having such a well trained & friendly staff & for all you do to make you patients such as myself feel as comfortable as possible! A total hip replacement is a life changer, esp if you’re in your early 40’s & to have had this experience, it makes this transition much less scary!! THANK YOU!! Ashley L.
Elizabeth C.
Submitted 08/20/19
Great job by all concerned! I liked the discussion on meds and care by the anesthesiologist.
Jane E.
Submitted 08/02/19
Dr. Matthews was great as always. Disappointing that I couldn’t get a cortisone injection today but appreciated that they admitted they were 2 hours behind in radiology. I will go back Tuesday for the injection.
Mike D.
Submitted 08/01/19
Very top-notch very professional he has done two procedures on me they were revision of my hip and my knee would definitely go back for more surgeries from him if I needed to. Thanks you Dr. Matthews and your staff.
Elizabeth C.
Submitted 08/01/19
Surgery was great. Staff listened to my concerns concerning anesthetics and other meds that have side effects and planned accordingly. The doctor, although very business like, is personable and extremely competent. I recommend him to everyone! The nursing staff was wonderful and very efficient. I also highly recommend this hospital! This is my second surgery at this facility. Outstanding on all counts!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Connie M.
Submitted 07/30/19
Dr. Mathews and his staff are all very professional, knowledgeable, and caring. There were no problems with my knee replacement due to the expertise of Dr. Mathews. The pain management I received was outstanding as well as the follow-up visits. I would recommend Dr. Mathews , his staff, Fondren Clinic, and Texas Orthopedic Hospital to all (in fact, I have)!
Thomas F.
Submitted 07/28/19
Excellent, first class service.
Susan L.
Submitted 07/25/19
Dr Mathews did an excellent job replacing my hip with the anterior method. Almost eight months out, I am doing great. I highly recommend him.